Question: Hammer & Chisel

per

Hello,

I am new to engraving and hope to able to learn enough hammer & chisel technique to be able to enhance some of my own projects such as woodworking planes, clock dials & general name plates and plaques.

I am impressed with some of the photos that have been posted on this site but was wondering if any one can point me to some photos of work done with hammer & chisel?

Regards

Paul

Ron Smith

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Paul,

Up until the last few years, before I lost my thumb, I did only hammer and chisel work along with the hand burin. If you have my book, all of the work in it was done in that fashion. It is refreshing to see someone willing to endure the challenge of using only the most basic tools. I wish you luck and success.

I still love those tools although I cannot use the hand burin very successfully. The pneumatic tools allow me the priveledge of still being able to engrave, although now the eyes are becoming an increasing challenge.

There is a considerable difference in the learning curve using the hammer and chisel and burin without power. If you can stick it out and stay with it long enough to get over the drugery of practice until you gain perfect control of the tools, it is very gratifying and what I like is my ability to do it with my own bare hands, no assistance, just me and the steel.

Welcome to the forum and keep us posted on your progress. Don't be shy in asking questions.

Ron S

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello Paul, and welcome to the Cafe! If you search our Gallery for work done by Weldon Lister you'll see some good examples of hammer & chisel engraving. Weldon recently started using a pneumatic handpiece for some of his work, but I believe he still uses traditional methods as well.

Here's an example of my hammer & chisel work from many years ago:

Whew...that was a long time ago!

~Sam

Joe

Hello Paul,