90-120 for linning?

Bob Bullard

Elite Cafe Member
I'm very new to this art form and I'm having trouble in shading and have seen reference made to using a 90 or 120.
Could someone please explain or post a picture of one, also do you use in a push tool or power assist? I' m using a gravermiester equiped with both handpieces
Thanks for your help
Bob

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hi Bob. Follow this link for sharpening instructions and a description of both the 90 (square) and 120 gravers. I use a GraverMach for all of my work including shading. A Gravermeister will do the job as well. / ~Sam

Bob Bullard

Elite Cafe Member
Sam
Many thanks as soon as read the info I went out to the boars nest ( wifes name for the area in the garage where my shop is) and made up a 120 and will try it in the morning.
I really enjoy and have learned alot from from this web site and also the Fega site.
Bob

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I don't know if this will do you any good or not but...

When you're shading to create dark areas like shadows the idea is to keep the light value darker than the surrounding surface. The deeper, and especially the narrower the furrow you cut, the harder it will be for the light to bounce back out of it. Ambient light entrapment is what makes it dark (if you use no ink).

If the 90 is used the groove will be narrower and conversely with the 120 it will be wider and therefore reflect more light rather than absorbing it. However, this is not to say that one is better than the other or more efficient per say, I think it's mostly in the application of the graver and the hand weilding it.